Judging a book by its cover

I made a trip to my favorite place in the world….the library! The whole world at your fingertips. I have been checking out the recommended books from 2013 and 2012. I am not certain how I arrived at this selection method, but I found my last batch was a dud. I believe I read one of the books and nixed the rest. 

The best method is to just go down an aisle and pick out anything that looks interesting and then reading the synopsis of the plot and checking out the first page. So I have a stacks randomly chosen from the downtown branch.

So that is my life anymore, avoiding life by disappearing into a book. Its not easy as I married a man who does not read! So he does not understand when I excuse myself from the infernal TV and head to the bedroom with a good book for some quality absorption and removal.

Being retired is a difficult transition. It is like a week end every day. And on a fixed income it is difficult to not give in and spend everyday eating out, going to movies, buying alcohol. I love being retired, but I believe I will find some gainful employment and my liver will thank me. And we will not mention my pocketbook!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

